The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts – Gary Chapman

Here are my comments on the book:

Why is it that some marriages last for years while others don’t last even a year? According to marriage counselor Gary Chapman, there are 5 different languages of love each of which are different just like English, Arabic, Mandarin, and Spanish and seldom do husband and wife speak the same language. Learning the language that both you and your partner speak is essential to having a long-lasting relationship. Points taken away are:


1. One of the love languages is through the use of words of affirmation.Giving verbal compliments is only one way to express words of affirmation to your spouse. Another dialect is encouraging words. The word encourage means ‘to inspire courage.’ All of us have areas in which we feel insecure. We lack courage, and that lack of courage often hinders us from accomplishing the positive things that we would like to do. The latent potential within your spouse in his or her areas of insecurity may await your encouraging words.


2. Another love language is the language of “quality time”.By ‘quality time,’ I mean giving someone your undivided attention. I don’t mean sitting on the couch watching television together. When you spend time that way, ABC or NBC has your attention – not your spouse. What I mean is sitting on the couch with the TV off, looking at each other and talking, giving each other your undivided attention. It means taking a walk, just the two of you, or going out to eat and looking at each other and talking.”



How do you read FASTER and SMARTER? Click Here


3. Another language of love is through gifts.A gift is something you can hold in your hand and say, ‘Look, he was thinking of me,’ or, ‘She remembered me.’ You must be thinking of someone to give him a gift. The gift itself is a symbol of that thought. It doesn’t matter whether it costs money. What is important is that you thought of him. And it is not the thought implanted only in the mind that counts, but the thought expressed in actually securing the gifts and giving it as the expression of love.”


4. Another language of love is through “touch”. “Physical touch is also a powerful vehicle for communicating marital love. Holding hands, kissing, embracing, and sexual intercourse are all ways of communicating emotional love to one’s spouse. For some individuals, physical touch is their primary love language. Without it, they feel unloved. With it, their emotional tank is filled, and they feel secure in the love of their spouse.

By Ryan Lee


My rating:
Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 8.00.46 AM


Check out the book here:
Amazon USA
Amazon Canada
Amazon UK


Thank you for reading! Please share in the comments below what language of love you speak with your partner. Please join my Facebook group here follow my Twitter here like the post, or share it.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s